Going, going, gone……. Primal!

Well it is official.  We’ve gone primal.  It has taken quite a while to get to this point but we have definitely arrived.  It meant me taking over the kitchen.  I haven’t been in charge of the kitchen in our home since around 1997, about a year after marrying my husband who had years of restaurant experience and was a whiz at stretching our limited food resources to feed a family of 7!   So I am very rusty to say the least.  I have had to inventory the kitchen, rearrange things to suit my way of being in a kitchen and do lots of research for recipes and ideas.  I am very tired, but undaunted.

I am finding tons of helpful information out there on the Web though.. Thank goodness! lol.  And I am having fun.   Like this morning, I made almond banana pancakes without FLOUR lol. The recipe called for an egg, 2 mashed bananas and about a tablespoon of almond butter.  I didn’t have almond butter so I used regular butter and “winged it” .  I chopped up almonds in my food processor, and added some of them as well as flax seed to the batter.  It was still rather runny so the pancakes weren’t picture perfect.  But boy oh boy were they yummy.   I added a bit more crushed almonds on top as well as some blueberries and then melted together raw honey and coconut oil to drizzle lightly over the top.  It was a total “Yes!”

My daughter Katherine and I also made some coconut milk to use in a smoothie recipe she found.  I got the coconut milk recipe from Wellness Mama.   Once the coconut milk was ready she used some of it, some raw honey,  some strawberries, and blueberries and whipped us up a smoothie that was very delicious and filling.   The rest of the coconut milk is in the fridge for use in other recipes.  And it was a cinch to make!

Off to check on our Jambalaya that is simmering for supper.

My quote for the week has been:

“Eat to Live rather than Living to Eat!”

Later gang!

Kimberly

Leave a comment